The 2023 Tusk Awards

A Celebration of Conservation

Honouring the unsung heroes who have dedicated their lives to safeguarding the future of the wildlife and in the heart of distant African communities..

This year saw the 11th anniversary of the Tusk Conservation Awards and it comes at a critical time for conservation. The future of Africa’s wildlife and protected spaces have taken center stage in biodiversity conversations taking place around the world.

The awards have been created to recognise the inspiring work of the remarkable people who are at the front lines of conservation in Africa and we are honoured to have been invited to partner with Tusk to create the awards that were presented by the patron of Tusk, HRH The Price of Whales, Prince William.

Patrick Mavros Jnr's trophies take center stage for the 4th consecutive year and each have been individually designed to represent the recipients’ particular area of focus and further celebrate the efforts made by these extraordinary individuals.

Chimpanzee Trophy

Bonobo Trophy

Wild Dog Trophy

The awards celebrate these individuals and their potential to tackle the greatest threats to the continent’s biodiversity.

“One of the most powerful tools we have for creating the change our planet needs is to share the stories of those who lead by example, working tirelessly to protect nature, as we go about our daily lives. I’m excited to be playing a part in celebrating these guardians of biodiversity at the Tusk Conservation Awards – a truly inspirational event and highlight of the conservation calendar.” - Liz Bonnin Host of the 2023 Tusk Conservation Awards

Above: Patrick Mavros with HRH the Prince of whales, Prince William

Above: Patrick and Alexander Mavros

Above: HRH the Prince of whales with Jealous Mpufo, Tusk Wildlife Ranger Award Recipient 2023

“If we don’t do something now, these beautiful animals will be lost to humankind, I want to be part of those offering tangible solutions and actions to keep the future of painted dogs secure.” - Jealous Mpofu, Tusk Wildlife Ranger Award Recipient 2023